Leaflets
Walks around Aberdour
The Aberdour Heritage Centre has produced three self-guided walk leaflets for residents and visitors to the village.
A Walk to the Beach
A Walk to the Beach describes the feud between James Stuart of Hillside House and the then Earl of Morton over access to the Silver Sands beach which James Stuart was keen his holiday guests should enjoy. The leaflet includes a detailed map, guidance on the route to be followed and much interesting information on Aberdour in the early 1800s.
Place Name Walk
Place-Name Walk from the Heritage Centre around Easter Aberdour, finishing in the High Street. Well known village landmarks, and some less well known, have their Pictish, Gaelic and Scots names explained and, again, there is a map and a clearly defined route. Each walk should take just over two hours.
New Town Walk
Aberdour New Town at the end of the eighteenth century George Douglas, 16th Earl of Morton (1774-1827), began an extraordinary series of ‘improvements’ to his Aberdour Estate. This walk traces the foundation of the New Town and follows the phases of its development through its buildings, streets and residents.
Copies of the Beach and Place-Names walk leaflets can be obtained from the Heritage Centre ([email protected]) and from Aberdour Cultural Association ([email protected]).
Aberdour Cultural Association Leaflets
The Hawkcriag Trail
The Hawkcraig Trail takes you on a tour visiting the locations of HMS Tarlair – the Hawkcraig Admiralty Establishment Station. See more.